“Tincknell takes first British F3 win of the season”

© SRO.

A jubilant Harry Tincknell grabbed his first British F3 of 2012 thanks to a stellar drive at Rockingham Motor Speedway this morning.

Tincknell’s Carlin teammate Pietro Fantin took the runner-up prize, while Jack Harvey came home 3rd to make it a Carlin 1-2-3 at the end of 15 laps.

The second-season driver shot passed poleman Nick McBride* off the line, settling into an early – if narrow – lead from Fantin, who also benefitted from sluggish opening lap by the pole sitter.

The gap between the leading pair rarely extended beyond one-and-a-half seconds, yet Tincknell at no point appeared fussed by the presence of his Brazilian teammate.

And Fantin was pushing – a warning for breaching track limits was issued at least once as the Carlin racer flung his Dallara around Rockingham’s tight infield. Each time Fantin reduced the gap, Tincknell responded in kind.
It mattered little for the Essex native, who eventually took the win by six-tenths of-a-second.

A rather lonely Harvey filled out the podium place. The Lincolnshire man skipped by McBride on the fifth lap, but never looked likely to catch the Tincknell / Fantin fight.
Meanwhile, McBride continued to fall backward, eventually falling to 9th. The T-Sport racer would soon lose out to Felix Serralles (lap 7), Hannes van Asseldonk (lap 8), Jazeman Jaafar (lap 9), Alex Lynn (lap 10) and Pipo Derani (lap 15).

Serralles claimed 4th – another solid result for the Puerto Rican, helped somewhat by an early move on teammate van Asseldonk.
The Dutchman fell back toward the pack as the race aged, but not far enough for Jaafar or Lynn to take advantage. For the final few laps, the trio crossed the line virtually line astern and were covered by a mere 1.5 seconds as the chequered flag flew.

Derani assumed 8th with McBride in his mirrors, while Fahmi Ilyas rounded out the top ten, despite clouting Carlos Sainz Jr four laps in, dropping the Spaniard to 13th – although the kerfuffle promoted Geoff Uhrhane up to 11th.
Sainz Jr claimed a spot from Duvashen Padayachee at the midpoint; however it is unlikely to have troubled Padayachee too much, who won the National Class irrespective.

* {note 1}
The pre-race grid formation resembled some odd chaos. Penalties from race one were still being appealed as cars lined up on the grid, meaning original poleman Pipo Derani was dropped to 9th.
Carlos Sainz Jr was then awarded pole, only to have it taken away from his moments later, when his race one penalty was confirmed, promoting Nick McBride – who was punted by Derani yesterday – to the top spot.
It resulted in a rather ridiculous situation of several cars being wheeled up and down the grid, ensuring the race began 15 minutes late.

2012 British Formula 3 Series (Rd 4, Race 2)
Pos  Driver                Team/Car                   Time/Gap 
 1.  Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW        20m03.332s 
 2.  Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW          + 0.645s 
 3.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW         + 11.211s 
 4.  Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc       + 15.599s 
 5.  Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc       + 21.835s 
 6.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW         + 22.700s 
 7.  Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc       + 23.323s 
 8.  Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc       + 29.726s 
 9.  Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan    + 31.077s 
10.  Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc     + 31.342s 
11.  Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc     + 31.687s 
12.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW         + 44.168s 
13.  Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen    + 54.468s 
14.  Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen   + 1m13.664s 

Italics = National class

2012 British Formula 3 Series points standings (Rd 4, Race 2)
Pos Driver Points
International Class
 1. Jazeman Jaafar       127
 2. Carlos Sainz Jr      106
 3. Jack Harvey          103
 4. Felix Serralles       95
 5. Alex Lynn             83
 6. Harry Tincknell       72
 7. Pietro Fantin         70
 8. Pipo Derani           67
 9. Hannes van Asseldonk  44
10. Nick McBride          27
National Class
 1. Richard Goddard      176
 2. Duvashen Padayachee  139

Leave a Reply