“FIA F3: Marciello takes second victory in Monza downpour”

© FIA.
© FIA.

Raffaele Marciello secured his second FIA European Formula 3 victory of the weekend this afternoon amidst some dreadful weather at Monza.

The Italian led for each of the nine laps in his Prema Powerteam Mercedes; however nearly half of that distance was run under safety car due to the persistent heavy downpour.

Behind Marciello for the duration were race winner Pascal Wehrlein (Mucke Motorsport) – in his final F3 race before moving to DTM – and Alex Lynn (also Prema), who assumed his first podium of the season.

As the race aged, conditions worsened bringing on more incidents between competitors. With less than half the scheduled distance completed, the red flag was thrown, ending the event prematurely.
With the race classified at the end of only eight laps, only half points were awarded. For Marciello, it proved a key result that pushed his lead over his next real title challenger – Lucas Auer – to 31.5 points.

The Prema Powerteam driver managed a cool gap to Wehrlein in the short time they were racing, but the leading pair were in a different league under green. Running, at times, several seconds quicker than the rest of the field, Marciello and Wehrlein ran off into the distance, although unlike this morning’s event, the Italian had his rear covered.

According to the young Italian, “It was a tough race, because Pascal was very quick and in these extreme conditions, making a mistake is easy. I have tried to pull a gap, which wasn’t that easy. However, my car was better than in the morning and I was able to get a little advantage as a result.”
The conditions also proved tough for the departing Wehrlein. “It wasn’t easy, because we could hardly see a thing due to the water. I also think that stopping the race in these conditions was the right decision, because the spray was even more extreme in the midfield.” He then added, “It is also a pity, because perhaps, I could have been in with a shot at victory. But I can also live very well with three podium finishes, it is a happy end to my spell in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship.”

Lynn, too, held a solid gap to those behind. Driving a wonderful race, the Briton made up for what had been a difficult weekend up until now, with Lynn delivering on his promise in the most difficult of conditions. By the time the race had been neutralised for the second and final time, Lynn had already worked a 10.4 second gap over 4th place Lucas Auer (Prema).
Speaking afterward, the Englishman was his straight-laced self when discussing the conditions. “All in all, it was very wet and I even reckon that it was slightly worse than this morning. I also understand very well why the race was stopped, because it was indeed slightly dangerous to a certain extent. Of course, I am happy with my podium finish, but I am also happy having scored points in every race of the weekend.”

Next up was Fortec’s Pipo Derani – this time making sure of points following his post-race time penalty from the second race. Harry Tincknell (Carlin) took 6th after Eddie Cheever III (Prema) and Jordan King (Carlin) suffered offs – both of whom finished 7th and 8th respectively. Tom Blomqvist (EuroInternational, 9th) and Felix Rosenqvist (Mücke, 10th) rounded out the top ten.

Sven Muller (ma-con) found himself involved in plenty of action. Whether it be grinding wheels with Rosenqvist and Mucke’s Mitchell Gilbert at the Rettifilo or hitting the rear of Gilbert later at Ascari, running off all by himself at the first Lesmo, the ma-con man was involved in some way.

The second round of the European F3 Championship takes place at Silverstone in just under three weeks, where the English midlands – being April – could possibly be notoriously wet once again.

2013 FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 1, Race 3, 8 laps)
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                           Time/Gap
 1.  Raffaelle Marciello  Prema Dallara-Merc               20m05.546s
 2.  Pascal Wehrlein      Mucke Dallara-Merc                 + 2.182s
 3.  Alex Lynn            Prema Dallara-Merc                 + 8.455s
 4.  Lucas Auer           Prema Dallara-Merc                + 18.823s
 5.  Pipo Derani          Fortec Dallara-Merc               + 21.508s
 6.  Harry Tincknell      Carlin Dallara-VW                 + 23.935s
 7.  Will Buller          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan            + 29.684s
 8.  Eddie Cheever        Prema Dallara-Merc                + 32.987s
 9.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW                 + 37.723s
10.  Tom Blomqvist        Eurointernational Dallara-Merc    + 39.326s
11.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc                + 40.935s
12.  Josh Hill            Fortec Dallara-Merc               + 42.195s
13.  Antonio Giovinazzi   Double R Dallara-Merc             + 42.927s
14.  Jann Mardenborough   Carlin Dallara-VW                 + 47.397s
15.  Sven Muller          Ma-con Dallara-VW                 + 50.322s
16.  Felix Serralles      Fortec Dallara-Merc               + 51.624s
17.  Gary Thompson        Ferraris Dallara-Merc             + 55.293s
18.  Sean Gelael          Double R Dallara-Merc           + 1m03.648s
19.  Dmitry Suranovich    Fortec Dallara-Merc             + 1m08.533s
20.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-Nissan          + 1m19.308s
21.  Michela Cerruti      Ferraris Dallara-Merc           + 1m21.158s
22.  Tatiana Calderon     Double R Dallara-Merc           + 1m29.124s
     Mitchell Gilbert     Mucke Dallara-Merc                   7 laps
     Andre Rudersdorf     Ma-con Dallara-VW                    7 laps
     Lucas Wolf           URD Dallara-Merc                     6 laps
     Nicholas Latifi      Carlin Dallara-VW                    6 laps
     Dennis van de Laar   Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW            6 laps
     Sandro Zeller        Zeller Dallara-Merc                  5 laps
     Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc                   4 laps
Did Not Start:
     Mans Grenhagen       Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW                --
2013 FIA European F3 championship (Rd 1, Race 3)
Pos  Driver                                          Points
 1.  Raffaele Marciello  Prema Dallara-Merc              55.5
 2.  Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Dallara-Merc              49
 3.  Lucas Auer          Prema Dallara-Merc              24
 4.  Harry Tincknell     Carlin Dallara-VW               24
 5.  Alex Lynn           Prema Dallara-Merc              19.5
 6.  Tom Blomqvist       Eurointernational Dallara-Merc  15.5
 7.  Will Buller         T-Sport Dallara-Nissan          15
 8.  Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc             14
 9.  Felix Rosenqvist    Prema Dallara-Merc              12
10.  Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW                7

Leave a Reply