2010 IndyCar Kentucky Indy 300 (Round 15, Qualifying)

Kentucky Speedway © kentuckyspeedway.com

Ed Carpenter must be wondering what his 2010 season would have been like should he had a full run on the ovals – positive runs at this years Indianapolis 500 an last weekend’s Chicagoland 300 km had left the part-time driver confident, but his first ever IndyCar pole position for tomorrow night’s IndyCar race at Kentucky Speedway was probably not on the cards.

It’s all rather timely too as several sets are still to be decided for next year – including that of his temporary team mate, Dan Wheldon. It’s unlikely that Wheldon is too disappointed with his Kentucky run, as the Manchester-born man will be starting on the inside of row 2 just behind Carpenter.

In between the two Panther Dallara’s is championship leader, Will Power as he aims to reinstate the points gap to challenger Dario Franchitti following a late race problem with fuel last weekend. Franchitti will not be buoyed on by his qualifying performance – the Scot starts in 11th place. Franchitti’s Ganassi team mate, Scott Dixon will start on the outside of row 2, ahead of the Newman-Haas of Hideki Mutoh and Belgian rookie Bertrand Baguette.

Mario Moraes (KV Racing) heads up an all-Brazilian fourth row alongside Helio Castroneves, followed by Ryan Briscoe (9th) and part-timer Tomas Scheckter (10th). AJ Foyt Enterprises’ sole entry, Vitor Meira ran a solid qualifying run, picking up the outside of row 6 (alongside Franchitti), while the single FAZZT Racing car driven by co-owner Alex Tagliani will start from 13th.
The second KV runner, Takuma Sato goes from the outside of row 7, well ahead of his other team mate EJ Viso – the Venezuelan has had a poor season so far and it may continue as starting from 22nd spot. Marco Andretti will lead the four the Andretti-Autosport entries from 15th spot in what was an abysmal session for the team – Danica Patrick will line up from 17th and Tony Kanaan from 26th spot following a difficult run. Ryan Hunter-Reay had a crash in turn 2, meaning he did not post a time – he will start 27th and last.

Justin Wilson (16th) is sandwiched by the two leading Andretti-Autosport cars and will be tailed by fellow Briton, Alex Lloyd (18th). Simona de Silvestro and Raphael Matos make up row 10, followed by the Fisher Racing entry driven by Sarah Fisher (21st). Paul Tracy returns for both this race and the next one in Motegi, but has left himself with much to do with his 23rd starting position. Dale Coyne’s, Milka Duno qualified 24th, with Graham Rahal (25th) slotting in behind.

Coverage for the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Kentucky 300 begins on indycar.com from 1am Sunday morning and from 1.30am on Sky Sports 3.

2010 IZOD IndyCar Kentucky 300 (Round 15)
Pos Driver              Team                        No Total Time Avg Speed (mph)

1   Ed Carpenter        Panther Racing              20 00:48.8958 217.933
2   Will Power          Team Penske                 12 00:48.9192 217.829
3   Dan Wheldon         Panther Racing               4 00:48.9480 217.700
4   Scott Dixon         Target Chip Ganassi Racing   9 00:48.9857 217.533
5   Hideki Mutoh        Newman/Haas Racing          06 00:49.0214 217.374
6   Bertrand Baguette   Conquest Racing             34 00:49.1087 216.988
7   Mario Moraes        KV Racing Technology        32 00:49.1335 216.879
8   Helio Castroneves   Team Penske                  3 00:49.1383 216.857
9   Ryan Briscoe        Team Penske                  6 00:49.1967 216.600
10  Tomas Scheckter     Conquest Racing             36 00:49.1991 216.589
11  Dario Franchitti    Target Chip Ganassi Racing  10 00:49.2120 216.533
12  Vitor Meira         A.J. Foyt Enterprises       14 00:49.2343 216.434
13  Alex Tagliani       FAZZT Race Team             77 00:49.2443 216.391
14  Takuma Sato         KV Racing Technology         5 00:49.2728 216.265
15  Marco Andretti      Andretti Autosport          26 00:49.2939 216.173
16  Justin Wilson       Dreyer & Reinbold Racing    22 00:49.3462 215.944
17  Danica Patrick      Andretti Autosport           7 00:49.3744 215.820
18  Alex Lloyd          Dale Coyne Racing           19 00:49.5001 215.272
19  Simona De Silvestro Team Stargate Worlds/HVM    78 00:49.5621 215.003
20  Raphael Matos       de Ferran Dragon Racing      2 00:49.5747 214.948
21  Sarah Fisher        Sarah Fisher Racing         67 00:49.6059 214.813
22  E.J. Viso           KV Racing Technology         8 00:49.6564 214.595
23  Paul Tracy          Dreyer & Reinbold Racing    24 00:49.7317 214.270
24  Milka Duno          Dale Coyne Racing           18 00:49.9478 213.343
25  Graham Rahal        Sarah Fisher Racing         66 00:50.1781 212.364
26  Tony Kanaan         Andretti Autosport          11 00:50.5428 210.831
27  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti Autosport          37 No Time

2010 IZOD IndyCar Series Championship
1. Will Power        528 points
2. Dario Franchitti  505
3. Scott Dixon       443
4. Ryan Briscoe      406
5. Helio Castroneves 398
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay  392

Leave a Reply