The 2011 Firestone Indy Lights Schedule

Indy Lights returns to Kentucky in 2011. © Ron McQueeney

After what has already been a busy week in the US for single-seater racing (and is about to get busier this evening), the Firestone Indy Lights Championship has released its racing calendar for the 2011 season.

Indy Lights, the primary junior category for IndyCar, has extended its schedule to twelve races, including the series’ first headline event since 2007.
As well as supporting the IndyCar’s at several of its events, the Indy Lights will lead the Star Mazda championship at Canada’s Trois Rivieres circuit at the beginning of August. Also next year, the Milwaukee Mile makes a return, while New Hampshire and Baltimore join the series; however Watkins Glen, Edmonton, Mid-Ohio, Sonoma, Chicagoland and Homestead have all disappeared.
As it stands, the 2011 calendar will take in five ovals, five street circuits and a single natural road course venue (Barber Motorsports Park).

There is expected to be a sixth oval race that will run at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, but that has yet to be confirmed although an announcement is expected soon. This is the busiest Indy Lights season since two years ago, when it ran fifteen races, including a double-header at the street circuit in St Petersburg.

2011 Firestone Indy Lights Championship

March 26-27, St. Petersburg, Fla.
April 9-10, Barber Motorsports Park
April 16-17, Long Beach, Calif.
May 27 Indianapolis Motor Speedway
June 18-19, The Milwaukee Mile
June 24-25, Iowa Speedway
July 9-10, Toronto, Canada
Aug. 6-7, Trois Rivieres, Canada
Aug. 13-14, New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sept. 3-4, Baltimore, Md.
Oct. 1-2, Kentucky Speedway
Oct. 15-16, TBA

Leave a Reply