2011 British F3 Round of Monza (Rd 1, Qualifying, April 16th)

Monza. © Will Pittenger / Creative Commons

William Buller took a narrow pole position for tomorrow’s British Formula 3 feature race at Monza.

The County Down native set his quick lap early in the session – his time of 1:45.491 was enough to fend off the advances of Carlin’s Kevin Magnussen.
The Fortec pilot also took pole position for the opening race this evening, shadowed by Magnussen and and Fortec teammate, Lucas Foresti.
Buller was reasonably ecstatic:

“It’s a great way to start the season. It just shows that it’s the first qualifying session that matters and not all the pre-season testing times. The whole team has put in a massive amount of hard work to get us here, and I’d like to thank each and every member for their dedication. Qualifying is all about managing your tyres and I nailed it today.”

Magnussen came close to Buller’s ultimate lap, falling short by a mere five-hundredths of a second, while Foresti assumed 3rd on the grid for the main event, albeit 0.443 shy of the pole man.
The next two places were filled by Carlin-prepared machinery as Jazeman Jaafar beat Carlos Huertas to 4th on the grid. Hitech’s Riki Christodoulou secured 6th with a best of 1:46.130.

Christodoulou narrowly headed Harry Tincknell (7th, Fortec), Felipe Nasr (8th, Carlin) and Pietro Fantin (9th, Hitech), while Rupert Svendsen-Cook rounded out the top ten, nearly one second off of Buller’s pace.

Pipo Derani pipped Double-R teammate Scott Pye to 11th on the grid. Menasheh Idafar missed out on the sixth row by the narrowest of margins, with a quickest turn 0.001 slower than Pye.
Jack Harvey (Carlin) will line up 14th. The runner-up from last year’s Formula BMW Europe Series may be somewhat disappointed with that result – it leaves him last of the Carlin sextet.

Fahmi Ilyas qualified his Hitech Mercedes machine 15th, one-tenth ahead of Hywel Lloyd (Sino Vision). Adderly Fong (Sino Vision) and Bruno Mendez (Hitech) secured the ninth row ahead of Rookie Class contender Bart Hylkema (19th, T-Sport).

Yann Cunha will line up 20th, with only Kotaru Sakurai behind him. Sakurai only managed six laps in the session – the 16-year-old spun midway through the session, collecting gravel from the Parabolica.

Qualifying Race 1
 1. William Buller        Fortec-Mercedes      1:45.750
 2. Kevin Magnussen       Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.022
 3. Lucas Foresti         Fortec-Mercedes      1:46.056
 4. Carlos Huertas        Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.102
 5. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.106
 6. Felipe Nasr           Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.174
 7. Riki Christodoulou    Hitech-Volkswagen    1:46.215
 8. Harry Tincknell       Fortec-Mercedes      1:46.316
 9. Pietro Fantin         Hitech-Volkswagen    1:46.318
10. Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.544
11. Jack Harvey           Carlin-Volkswagen    1:46.743
12. Scott Pye             Double R-Mercedes    1:46.754
13. Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport-Volkswagen   1:46.925
14. Pipo Derani           Double R-Mercedes    1:46.965
15. Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec-Mercedes      1:47.138
16. Adderly Fong          Sino Vision-Mercedes 1:47.403
17. Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision-Mercedes 1:47.509
18. Bruno Mendez          Hitech-Volkswagen    1:47.701
19. Yann Cunha            T-Sport-Volkswagen   1:47.960
20. Bart Hylkema          T-Sport Mugen-Honda  1:48.053
21. Kotaru Sakurai        Hitech Mugen-Honda   1:49.608

Race 2 will line-up with a partial reverse grid.

Qualifying, Race 3
 1. William Buller        Fortec-Mercedes      1:45.491
 2. Kevin Magnussen       Carlin-Volkswagen       0.053
 3. Lucas Foresti         Fortec-Mercedes         0.443
 4. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin-Volkswagen       0.484
 5. Carlos Huertas        Carlin-Volkswagen       0.509
 6. Riki Christodoulou    Hitech-Volkswagen       0.639
 7. Harry Tincknell       Fortec-Mercedes         0.654
 8. Felipe Nasr           Carlin-Volkswagen       0.671
 9. Pietro Fantin         Hitech-Volkswagen       0.683
10. Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin-Volkswagen       0.965
11. Pipo Derani           Double R-Mercedes       1.049
12. Scott Pye             Double R-Mercedes       1.095
13. Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport-Volkswagen      1.096
14. Jack Harvey           Carlin-Volkswagen       1.121
15. Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec-Mercedes         1.391
16. Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision-Mercedes    1.505
17. Adderly Fong          Sino Vision-Mercedes    1.904
18. Bruno Mendez          Hitech-Volkswagen       2.185
19. Bart Hylkema          T-Sport Mugen-Honda     2.248
20. Yann Cunha            T-Sport-Volkwagen       2.370
21. Kotaru Sakurai        Hitech Mugen-Honda      3.695

Leave a Reply