2011 British F3 Round of Snetterton (Rd 3, Qualifying, May 14th)

Following on from yesterday’s test session, Felipe Nasr was again quickest in qualifying for races one and three at round three of the British Formula 3 series at Snetterton.

The Brazilian pipped fellow Carlin runner, Kevin Magnussen late in the session – his best of 1:39.147 left the Dane to line up alongside Nasr in 2nd, some three-tenths slower.
Magnussen will also start 2nd for the opening race of the weekend. Having stalled on pole at Oulton Park three weeks ago, Magnussen will be hoping to take advantage of his front row start this time around, after a difficult opening couple of rounds.

Rupert Svendsen-Cook (Carlin) and Riki Christodoulou (Hitech) filled out the second row of the grid, while the third row was another all-Carlin affair as Carlos Huertas beat Jazeman Jaafar to 5th position.
Hitech’s Pietro Fantin took 7th, just one-tenth ahead of Pipo Derani (8th, Double R) and Harry Tincknell (9th, Fortec). Sino Vision’s Hywel Lloyd rounds out the top ten.

Menasheh Idafar made the best of his Volkswagen-powered T-Sport machine, only just nabbing 11th, with William Buller (Fortec) and Scott Pye (Double R) lingering close behind.
Both Lucas Foresti (Fortec) and Jack Harvey (Carlin) had disappointing days, finishing up 14th and 16th respectively – they sandwiched Brazilian runner Yann Cunha.
Beyond Harvey, Fahmi Ilyas (Fortec) and Adderly Fong’s (Sino Vision) best laps were over two seconds shy of Nasr. Rookie Class drivers Bart Hylkema (19th, T-Sport) and Kotaru Sakurai (Hitech) secured the back of the grid.

Round 2; Race one grid:
Pos Driver Team/Car Time
 1. Felipe Nasr           Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.549
 2. Kevin Magnussen       Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.573
 3. Riki Christodoulou    Hitech-Volkswagen     1:39.842
 4. Carlos Huertas        Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.845
 5. Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.919
 6. Pietro Fantin         Hitech-Volkswagen     1:40.065
 7. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin-Volkswagen     1:40.111
 8. Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision-Mercedes  1:40.218
 9. Pipo Derani           Double R-Mercedes     1:40.411
10. William Buller        Fortec-Mercedes       1:40.415
11. Harry Tincknell       Fortec-Mercedes       1:40.515
12. Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport-Volkswagen    1:40.571
13. Scott Pye             Double R-Mercedes     1:40.603
14. Yann Cunha            T-Sport-Volkswagen    1:40.852
15. Lucas Foresti         Fortec-Mercedes       1:41.117
16. Jack Harvey           Carlin-Volkswagen     1:41.229
17. Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec-Mercedes       1:41.622
18. Adderly Fong          Sino Vision-Mercedes  1:41.631
19. Bart Hylkema          T-Sport-Mugen Honda   1:42.531
20. Kotaru Sakurai        Hitech-Volkswagen     1:43.836

Round 2; Race three grid: 
Pos Driver Team/Car Time 
 1. Felipe Nasr           Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.147
 2. Kevin Magnussen       Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.486
 3. Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.650
 4. Riki Christodoulou    Hitech-Volkswagen     1:39.810
 5. Carlos Huertas        Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.817
 6. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin-Volkswagen     1:39.883
 7. Pietro Fantin         Hitech-Volkswagen     1:39.990
 8. Pipo Derani           Double R-Mercedes     1:40.088
 9. Harry Tincknell       Fortec-Mercedes       1:40.142
10. Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision-Mercedes  1:40.201
11. Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport-Volkswagen    1:40.305
12. William Buller        Fortec-Mercedes       1:40.339
13. Scott Pye             Double R-Mercedes     1:40.400
14. Lucas Foresti         Fortec-Mercedes       1:41.647
15. Yann Cunha            T-Sport-Volkswagen    1:40.796
16. Jack Harvey           Carlin-Volkswagen     1:40.978
17. Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec-Mercedes       1:41.190
18. Adderly Fong          Sino Vision-Mercedes  1:41.510
19. Bart Hylkema          T-Sport-Mugen Honda   1:42.400
20. Kotaru Sakurai        Hitech-Volkswagen     1:43.620

Leave a Reply