2011 Belgian Grand Prix (Rd 12, Free Practice 3, Aug 27th, TV Notes)

Spa-Francorchamps © Creative Commons / Will Pittenger

As with much of the Friday running, third practice for the Belgian Grand Prix was punctuated by heavy rain showers.

It was not enough to stop Red Bull’s Mark Webber from taking the top spot.
The Australian only completed seven laps in his RB7, but his best of 2:08.988 was more than enough to steal the headlines.

Lewis Hamilton came a close 2nd in his McLaren. The former-Champion stayed in the garage for much of the session, in the end only completing eight circulations of Spa.
The Briton made for a short stint in the dying moments of practice, but such was the conditions on track, it is doubtful much of use was learned.

Both Toro Rosso’s achieved top six status, with Jaime Alguersuari 3rd and Sebastien Buemi 6th. The Ferrari-powered duo squeezed Jenson Button (4th, McLaren) and Sebastian Vettel (5th, Red Bull) respectively.

Nico Rosberg assumed 7th in his Mercedes, despite losing a few minutes of the session due to right front puncture. His teammate, Michael Schumacher, rounded out the top ten.
Ferrari completed very little running, with Felipe Massa setting only a single lap time. Fernando Alonso ran five installation laps, but did not attempt a fast tour.

The mid part of the session saw next to no running, as near monsoon condition prevailed over the circuit.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap Laps
 1.  Mark Webber         Red Bull-Renault      2m08.988s             7
 2.  Lewis Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      2m09.046s  + 0.058s   8
 3.  Jaime Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari    2m09.931s  + 0.943s   16
 4.  Jenson Button       McLaren-Mercedes      2m10.257s  + 1.269s   7
 5.  Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull-Renault      2m10.402s  + 1.414s   9
 6.  Sebastien Buemi     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    2m10.580s  + 1.592s   15
 7.  Nico Rosberg        Mercedes              1m10.837s  + 1.849s   12
 8.  Adrian Sutil        Force India-Mercedes  2m11.437s  + 2.449s   13
 9.  Bruno Senna         Renault               2m11.664s  + 2.676s   14
10.  Michael Schumacher  Mercedes              1m11.667s  + 2.679s   10
11.  Paul di Resta       Force India-Mercedes  2m11.874s  + 2.886s   13
12.  Heikki Kovalainen   Lotus-Renault         2m13.036s  + 4.048s   15
13.  Pastor Maldonado    Williams-Cosworth     2m13.074s  + 4.086s   12
14.  Kamui Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari        2m13.182s  + 4.194s   12
15.  Vitaly Petrov       Renault               2m13.290s  + 4.302s   15
16.  Rubens Barrichello  Williams-Cosworth     2m13.778s  + 4.790s   12
17.  Sergio Perez        Sauber-Ferrari        2m14.334s  + 5.346s   14
18.  Jarno Trulli        Lotus-Renault         2m14.682s  + 5.694s   11
19.  Jerome D'Ambrosio   Virgin-Cosworth       2m17.159s  + 8.171s   12
20.  Timo Glock          Virgin-Cosworth       2m18.039s  + 9.051s   10
21.  Daniel Ricciardo    HRT-Cosworth          2m19.001s  + 10.013s  12
22.  Tonio Liuzzi        HRT-Cosworth          2m19.001s  + 10.609s  14
23.  Felipe Massa        Ferrari               2m19.597s  + 13.466s  7
24.  Fernando Alonso     Ferrari               no time               5

Leave a Reply