Van Asseldonk joins Fortec’s British F3 assault

Dutch racer Hannes van Asseldonk has become the fourth driver to be announced by Fortec Motorsport’s British Formula 3 effort.

The 20-year-old, who recently finished as runner-up in the Toyota Racing Series behind champion Nick Cassidy, will team up with Felix Serralles, Pipo Derani and reigning Formula Renault UK Champion Alex Lynn.

Van Asseldonk comes to the British Formula 3 Series with a season’s worth of F3 running under his belt. A 2011 campaign in the ATS German F3 Championship saw the Dutchman claim two pole positions and five podiums with Van Amersfoort Racing to finish 5th overall.
In November, van Asseldonk also claimed 5th place in an accident-peppered Macau Grand Prix.

Van Asseldonk took three wins at the wheel of his Giles Motorsport Toyota-Tatuus, on his to the runner-up spot in the Toyota Racing Series. Although British Formula 3 will be new to the Dutch pilot, he is confident of making some dents in the championship:

“I know there will be a lot of competition with some very strong drivers and I’m really looking forward to that. It will be tough as there are a lot of circuits that I’ll have to learn but I’m really confident that I can do a good job for the team and I can’t wait for the season to get underway.”

After a number of barren years in top level motorsport for the Netherlands, Van Asseldonk is one of a number of bright young things rising through the European feeder championships.
In GP2, the country is represented Nigel Melker and Giedo van der Garde, while Robin Frijns is leading the Dutch charge in this year’s Formula Renault 3.5 championship. Nyck de Vries, will be moving to the Formula NEC following his second consecutive Karting World Championship success last year*.

The opening test for the British Formula 3 Series starts at Snetterton today.

* {note 1}
De Vries’ double success is not a rarity in the Karting World Championship. Since its inception in 1964, seven other drivers have claimed multiple Kart World Championships, with Francois Goldstein and Mike Wilson taking five apiece.
Danilo Rossi and Davide Fore have both been crowned on three occasions, while Guido Sala, Felice Rovelli and Marco Ardigo were all double world champions; however none made headways in car racing.

Leave a Reply