“Jaafar heads Pau Formula 3 practice”

Carlin Motorsport’s Jazeman Jaafar claimed spot following the opening day’s practice at the Grand Prix de Pau for the second round of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship.

The Malaysian headed a muggy and hot afternoon in the Pyrenees town with a best of 1:11.784, holding an advantage of 0.142s over teammate Carlos Sainz Jr.
It has thus far been a very promising weekend for Jaafar, who has exuded confidence since he sat in the car for the morning running..

Alex Lynn (Fortec) and Jack Harvey (Carlin) ensured an all British F3 top four, although the former was disappointed to have clipped the barriers at Beaumont, ending the day with a slightly damaged Dallara.

Next followed a quartet of F3 Euro Series pilots fronted by Felix Rosenqvist (Mücke Motorsport). Pascal Wehrlein assumed 6th ahead of Raffaelo Marciello and recent Macau Grand Prix winner Daniel Juncadella (both Prema Powerteam).
Juncadella had headed the morning session after pipping Marciello and Jaafar to the top spot, although a minor accident in the afternoon stopped the Spaniard from making further progress.

Fortec pairing Hannes van Asseldonk and Felix Serralles rounded out the top ten, with the Puerto Rican Serralles ended the session nine-tenths shy of top man Jaafar, while it proved to be a difficult day for Carlin’s Harry Tincknell, who claimed 11th spot, albeit 1.1 seconds shy of his pace setting teammate after he too damaged a wheel at Beaumont.
Pietro Fantin missed the morning session due to a gearbox failure – he could only manage 16th as he played catch up in FP2.

In the British F3 National Class, Duvashen Padayachee headed Spike Goddard by six tenths as the afternoon closed; however Goddard has worked wonders to be here at all, following an operation for appendicitis just last week.

2012 British Formula 3 Grand Prix de Pau (Rd 3, Free Practice) 
Pos  Driver                Team/Car                Time       Gap 
 1.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW       1m11.784s 
 2.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW       1m11.926s  + 0.142s 
 3.  Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m11.966s  + 0.182s 
 4.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW       1m12.095s  + 0.311s 
 5.  Felix Rosenqvist      Mucke Dallara-Merc      1m12.105s  + 0.321s 
 6.  Pascal Wehrlein       Mucke Dallara-Merc      1m12.194s  + 0.410s 
 7.  Raffaele Marciello    Prema Dallara-Merc      1m12.341s  + 0.557s 
 8.  Daniel Juncadella     Prema Dallara-Merc      1m12.427s  + 0.643s 
 9.  Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m12.689s  + 0.905s 
10.  Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m12.697s  + 0.913s 
11.  Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW       1m12.917s  + 1.133s 
12.  Sven Muller           Prema Dallara-Merc      1m12.941s  + 1.157s 
13.  Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m13.040s  + 1.256s 
14.  Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc   1m13.141s  + 1.357s 
15.  Michael Lewis         Prema Dallara-Merc      1m13.142s  + 1.358s 
16.  Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW       1m13.186s  + 1.402s 
17.  Emil Bernstorff       Ma-Con Dallara-VW       1m13.246s  + 1.462s 
18.  Andrea Roda           Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc  1m13.473s  + 1.689s 
19.  Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan  1m13.568s  + 1.784s 
20.  Tom Blomqvist         Ma-Con Dallara-VW       1m14.113s  + 2.329s 
21.  Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc   1m14.169s  + 2.385s 
22.  Sandro Zeller         Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc  1m14.221s  + 2.437s 
23.  Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen  1m15.280s  + 3.496s 
24.  Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen   1m15.820s  + 4.036s  
Italics = National class

Leave a Reply