“Leimer heads GP2 Spa practice”

© GP2 Media Services.

Racing Engineering’s Fabio Leimer finished at the top of the timing screen following a very wet GP2 practice session at Spa-Francorchamps this afternoon.

The Swiss racer ended the session well ahead of Nigel Melker (Ocean Racing Technology) and Johnny Cecotto Jr (Barwa Addax) thanks to best effort of 2:22.580 near practice end.

Championship challengers Luiz Razia and Davide Valsecchi ended the practice , 4th and 5th after heading the timesheets early on, while Marcus Ericsson closed out the top six for iSport.
James Calado led the Lotus charge in 7th, with Esteban Gutierrez three spots behind. They were split by Victor Guerin (OCR, 8th) and Stefano Coletti (Coloni, 9th).

The positions would remain as such in the final minutes, when Cecotto Jr planted his GP2/11 car hard into the barrier at Pouhon, bringing out the session’s sole red flag.
Flat on the power during a fast lap, the Venezuelan climbed Pouhon’s gripless kerbs, only to be thrown clear of the track.

Cecotto was one of many to spin in the treacherous conditions, but only one of the few to inflict damage or embarrassment.
A number of drivers enjoyed harmless spins at various parts of the circuit, especially Les Combes, where Daniel de Jong tapped the barrier, ending his session early.

Indeed, such was the depth of water at some points of the circuit, it was clear to see drivers struggling behind the wheel of their GP2 machines. Hopefully the weather may be somewhat kinder come tomorrow’s running.

* {note 1}
Rene Binder joins Venezuela GP Lazarus this weekend in place of perennial lappee Giancarlo Serenelli. It may represent a huge step up for the Austrian, who currently competes in the German Formula 3 Cup.

2012 GP2 Round of Spa-Francorchamps (Rd 10, Free Practice)
Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  2m22.580s
 2.  Nigel Melker         Ocean               2m23.540s  + 0.960s
 3.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    Addax               2m23.911s  + 1.331s
 4.  Luiz Razia           Arden               2m24.292s  + 1.712s
 5.  Davide Valsecchi     DAMS                2m24.394s  + 1.814s
 6.  Marcus Ericsson      iSport              2m24.665s  + 2.085s
 7.  James Calado         Lotus               2m25.145s  + 2.565s
 8.  Victor Guerin        Ocean               2m25.330s  + 2.750s
 9.  Stefano Coletti      Coloni              2m25.431s  + 2.851s
10.  Esteban Gutierrez    Lotus               2m25.540s  + 2.960s
11.  Felipe Nasr          DAMS                2m25.957s  + 3.377s
12.  Julian Leal          Trident             2m25.961s  + 3.381s
13.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham            2m25.969s  + 3.389s
14.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Caterham            2m26.226s  + 3.646s
15.  Jolyon Palmer        iSport              2m26.687s  + 4.107s
16.  Rio Haryanto         Carlin              2m26.841s  + 4.261s
17.  Stephane Richelmi    Trident             2m27.804s  + 5.224s
18.  Fabio Onidi          Coloni              2m27.945s  + 5.365s
19.  Simon Trummer        Arden               2m28.078s  + 5.498s
20.  Josef Kral           Addax               2m28.639s  + 6.059s
21.  Max Chilton          Carlin              2m28.751s  + 6.171s
22.  Ricardo Teixeira     Rapax               2m30.324s  + 7.744s
23.  Sergio Canamasas     Lazarus             2m30.461s  + 7.881s
24.  Nathanael Berthon    Racing Engineering  2m31.938s  + 9.358s
25.  Daniel de Jong       Rapax               2m33.864s  + 11.284s
26.  Rene Binder          Lazarus             2m34.328s  + 11.748s

Leave a Reply