“Jaafar assumes British F3 victory after Lynn penalised”

© SRO.

Jazeman Jaafar claimed a key British Formula 3 victory at Silverstone today after original victor Alex Lynn received a post-race penalty.

Jack Harvey was also penalised for a jump-start, falling from 3rd to 8th. The penalties promoted Carlos Sainz Jr to 2nd, while Harry Tincknell completed the reconfigured podium.

Lynn took the flag well clear of his Malaysian rival; however the Fortec racer was adjudged to have jumped the start, earning a 30 second penalty as a result, demoting the Essex man to 4th.

It was a deeply unfortunate outcome for Lynn who had otherwise dominated the proceedings. From there, the Fortec racer casually pulled away from Jaafar; extending his lead by up to one second per lap, eventually ending the contest 10.5 seconds clear.

Prior to the penalties being issued, Jaafar was not best pleased after the race. Aside from fuming at Lynn’s getaway, the Malaysian enjoyed brief fight to keep Sainz Jr at bay on the opening tour; however the Spaniard’s attack was quickly subdued and Jaafar settled into 2nd.

Indeed, Sainz Jr was the focus of much of the race’s action. The son of the rally World Champion endured a rearguard battle from Harvey from early on, yet every time the series leader came to within a few tenths of Sainz, the dreaded aerodynamic disturbance took effect.
Following several aborted attempts, Harvey drew alongside Sainz Jr on the final tour at Luffield, forcing his way by. As the circuit switched and turned into Woodcote, Harvey grabbed the inside line, edging ahead of Sainz Jr by a mere 0.057 seconds at the line; however it mattered little.

Harry Tincknell was promoted to 4th, but was not in the same league as the front pack. The Englishman battled with Fortec’s Pipo Derani in the early laps; however this was neutralised when the Brazilian received a drive through penalty for a pre-race infringement*.
With Derani removed, Tincknell spent the rest of the race keeping (Carlin’s) Pietro Fantin at bay, while Formula 3 returnee Rupert Svendsen-Cook (Double R) lingered in the near distance.

It was horror race for title challenger Felix Serralles. The Puerto Rican stalled momentarily at the race start, demoting him to the rear of the field.
A charging run from Serralles ensured he easily swept by the National Class trio, before finally assuming 8th when Geoff Uhrhane and Nick McBride removed each the running on the final lap. Harvey’s penalty promoted Serralles to 7th.
Derani’s 9th place finish garnered the Brazilian two points and reverse grid pole for tomorrow’s short opening race.

Spike Goddard won the National Class and took 10th overall, after he pulled away from Pedro Pablo Calbimonte (T-Sport, 11th) and Duvashen Padayachee (Double R, 12th).
Hannes van Asseldonk retired when he felt a burning sensation underneath his buttocks (an engine problem).

{* note 1}
Two of Derani’s mechanics remained on the grid after the two-minute mark on the grip, earning the Brazilian a drive-through penalty.

2012 British F3 Round of Silverstone (Rd 9, Race 1)
Pos Driver Team Time
 1. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin-Volkswagen       29:02.367
 2. Carlos Sainz Jr         Carlin-Volkswagen       29:10.267
 3. Harry Tincknell         Carlin-Volkswagen       29:18.746
 4. Alex Lynn               Fortec-Mercedes         29:21.808
 5. Pietro Fantin           Carlin-Volkswagen       29:22.745
 6. Rupert Svendsen-Cook    Double R-Mercedes       29:23.273
 7. Felix Serralles         Fortec-Mercedes         29:25.803
 8. Jack Harvey             Carlin-Volkswagen       29:40.210
 9. Pipo Derani             Fortec-Mercedes         29:41.187
10. Spike Goddard           T-Sport-Mugen Honda     29:45.351
11. Pedro Pablo Calbimonte  T-Sport-Mugen Honda     29:47.437
12. Duvashen Padayachee     Double R-Mugen Honda    29:51.689
    Nick McBride            T-Sport ThreeBond-Nissan   +1 lap
    Geoff Uhrhane           Double R-Mercedes          +1 lap
    Hannes van Asseldonk    Fortec-Mercedes           +9 laps
2012 British F3 Round of Silverstone (Rd 9, Race 1)
International Class
Pos Drivers Points
 1. Jack Harvey            255
 2. Felix Serralles        252
 3. Jazeman Jaafar         252
 4. Carlos Sainz Jr        212 
 5. Alex Lynn              197
 6. Harry Tincknell        181
 7. Pietro Fantin          153
 8. Pipo Derani            119
 9. Hannes van Asseldonk    99
10. Nick McBride            79

National Class
Pos Drivers Points
 1. Spike Goddard           352
 2. Duvashen Padayachee     309
 3. Adderly Fong            161
 4. Pedro Pablo Calbimonte   70

Leave a Reply