“Campos Racing return to GP2 Series”

Campos Racing are to return to the GP2 Series in 2014, replacing Barwa Addax – the team who originally took over from Campos several years ago.

The Spanish squad dropped out of GP2 at the end of 2008, having won the Teams’ Championship with Lucas di Grassi, Vitaly Petrov and Ben Hanley.

Campos’s addition keeps the field count at 26 cars – a difficult prospect as noted by GP2 Series CEO Bruno Michel: “We received high quality requests from new teams who wished to join our Series. However, as we did in the past we decided to show loyalty to the existing teams who have done a very good job in a difficult economic environment.”

With Barwa Addax team boss Alejandro Agag committed to running the new-for-2014 FIA Formula E Championship, it is no surprise to see the Spaniard withdraw his squad, as he concentrates on upcoming ventures.

Confirmed GP2 Series entries for 2014-16 seasons:

Team                   Nationality
Arden International    GBR
ART Grand Prix         FRA
Campos Racing          ESP
Carlin                 GBR
DAMS                   FRA
EQ8 Caterham Racing    MAS
Hilmer Motorsport      GER
MP Motorsport          NED
Racing Engineering     ESP
Rapax                  ITA
Trident                ITA
Venezuela GP Lazarus   VEN

One thought on ““Campos Racing return to GP2 Series”

Leave a Reply