“Kirchhöfer claims maiden GP3 Series pole”

© Sam Bloxham/GP3 Series Media Service.
© Sam Bloxham/GP3 Series Media Service.

ART Grand Prix’s Marvin Kirchhöfer claimed the first pole position of his GP3 Series career at Hockenheim today.

The German set a late lap at 1:28.647s to steal the prize from points leader Alex Lynn (Carlin).

In astonishingly hot conditions, Kirchhöfer broke into the 1’28s early, leaving the field to catch; however the former German F3 champion was jumped by Lynn as the session drew to a close.
Emerging for another quick lap, Kirchhöfer maintained a good pace, eventually pipping Lynn by just half-a-tenth, while Status GP’s Nick Yelloly was a similar distance adrift of Lynn in 3rd.

Emil Bernstorff recorded an excellent 4th in his Carlin machine, while Mitch Gilbert took 5th for Trident. ART Grand Prix driver Dino Zamparelli fills out the third row.
Richie Stanaway (Status GP) and Mathéo Tuscher (Jenzer) closed out positions 7 and 8 respectively, with Dean Stoneman (Marussia Manor) just missing out on the top eight.
Title challenger Jimmy Eriksson (Koiranen GP) originally qualified in 5th place, but a five-place grid penalty left over from Silverstone dropped the Swede down to 10th overall.

2014 GP3 Series Round of German (Rd 4, Qualifying)
Pos Driver               Team        Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Marvin Kirchhofer    ART         1m28.647s           14
 2. Alex Lynn            Carlin      1m28.706s  +0.059s  13
 3. Nick Yelloly         Status      1m28.749s  +0.102s  12
 4. Emil Bernstorff      Carlin      1m28.910s  +0.263s  15
 5. Jimmy Eriksson       Koiranen    1m28.949s  +0.302s  14
 6. Mitchell Gilbert     Trident     1m28.995s  +0.348s  13
 7. Dino Zamparelli      ART         1m29.133s  +0.486s  13
 8. Richie Stanaway      Status      1m29.205s  +0.558s  13
 9. Matheo Tuscher       Jenzer      1m29.212s  +0.565s  13
10. Dean Stoneman        Manor       1m29.247s  +0.600s  13
11. Alex Fontana         ART         1m29.329s  +0.682s  14
12. Roman de Beer        Trident     1m29.338s  +0.691s  15
13. Robert Visoiu        Arden       1m29.400s  +0.753s  14
14. Jann Mardenborough   Arden       1m29.405s  +0.758s  13
15. Riccardo Agostini    Hilmer      1m29.516s  +0.869s  13
16. Alfonso Celis        Status      1m29.531s  +0.884s  11
17. Patric Niederhauser  Arden       1m29.672s  +1.025s  13
18. Sebastian Balthasar  Hilmer      1m29.849s  +1.202s  1?
19. Pal Varhaug          Jenzer      1m29.870s  +1.223s  15
20. Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      1m29.951s  +1.304s  12
21. Nelson Mason         Hilmer      1m30.082s  +1.435s  16
22. Ryan Cullen          Manor       1m30.180s  +1.533s  15
23. Patrick Kujala       Manor       1m30.272s  +1.625s   8
24. Adderly Fong         Jenzer      1m30.646s  +1.999s  13
25. Santiago Urrutia     Koiranen    1m30.977s  +2.330s  14
26. Victor Carbone       Trident     1m31.219s  +2.572s  17
27. Carmen Jorda         Koiranen    1m32.951s  +4.304s  16

Leave a Reply