“FIA release 2015 Formula One calendar”

The FIA formally announced the calendar for the 2015 Formula One World Championship during the latest meeting of the World Motor Sport Council today.

The calendar, which will at twenty races, matches the busiest season in the history of the World Championship, with Mexico returning to the Grand Prix schedule for the first time since 1992.

Once again Australia will open the season (March 15), followed by Malaysia two weeks later. In April, the series takes in Bahrain and China, before beginning the European leg in May with Spain and Monaco. As per usual, June brings a brief sojourn to North America, when F1 visits Montreal, before returning to Europe for the Austrian Grand Prix in the third week of that month.

July will be a busy month for F1 with the British, German and Hungarian Grands Prix taking place before the a four-week summer break commences and ends with the Belgian Grand Prix at the end of August. The Italian Grand Prix holds its early-September date, concluding the European leg season.

The championship heads east with Singapore and Japan before the end of September and begins to return westway and to Russia in mid-October. Initially in the draft version of the calendar that did the rounds at Monza last week, the US Grand Prix slotted in after Mexico; however that has been reversed in this final version, with the Circuit of the Americas hosting its fourth US Grand Prix at the tail end of October, with the returning Mexican Grand Prix taking place a week later on November 1st.

Once again the Brazilian Grand Prix (November 15th) will lead into the finale in Abu Dhabi two weeks afterward. Unsurprisingly, the Grand Prix at New Jersey is missing and the Indian Grand Prix, which was originally pressing for a 2015 return, is also absent, which may most certainly to consign that race – and circuit – to history.

2015 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar
Australia (March 15)
Malaysia (March 29)
Bahrain (April  5)
China (April 19)
Spain (May 10)
Monaco (May 24)
Canada (June 7)
Austria (June 21)
Britain (July 5)
Germany (July 19)
Hungary (July 26)
Belgium (August 23)
Italy (September 6)
Singapore (September 20)
Japan (September 27)
Russia (October 11)
USA  (October 25)
Mexico (November 1)
Brazil (November 15)
Abu Dhabi (November 29)

Leave a Reply