British F3 In-Season Testing (Oulton Park, April 22nd)

Oulton Park. © Creative Commons / Will Pittenger

With the second round of the 2011 British Formula 3 Series at Oulton Park just around the corner, a single day test was run at the Cheshire circuit.

Carlin’s Carlos Huertas topped the day’s running ahead of Scott Pye (Double R). The Colombian enjoyed an advantage of one-tenth following his best of 1:29.238, set in the morning.
Indeed the entire field finished the day very close, with just over half-a-second covering the fastest eleven machines.

T-Sport’s Menasheh Idafar headed a trio of Carlin runners including Monza race winners Rupert Svendsen-Cook (4th) and Felipe Nasr (6th); both of whom squeezed young Dane, Kevin Magnussen.

Lucas Foresti (7th, Fortec), Jazeman Jaafar (8th, Carlin), Pietro Fantin (9th, Hitech), Harry Tincknell (10th, Fortec) and Pipo Derani (11th, Double R) were all separated by less than one-tenth following a competitive day.
William Buller (Fortec) and Jack Harvey (Carlin) completed the day just under one second shy of Huertas, in 12th and 13th respectively.

Hitech’s Riki Christodoulou sandwiched the Sino Vision pair of Adderly Fong (14th) and Hywel Lloyd (16th), while Yann Cunha and Fahmi Ilyas brought up the rear of the International Class.
Unsurprisingly, Bart Hylkema outpaced Kotaru Sakurai in Rookie Class, with Hylkema 2.2 seconds faster.

Bruno Mendez did not test and may not compete for the rest of the season. The Hitech runner struggled at Monza, condemning the programme to end earlier than expected.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap
 1.  Carlos Huertas        Carlin Dallara-VW         1m29.238s
 2.  Scott Pye             Double R Dallara-Merc     1m29.334s  + 0.096s
 3.  Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m29.355s  + 0.117s
 4.  Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin Dallara-VW         1m29.510s  + 0.272s
 5.  Kevin Magnussen       Carlin Dallara-VW         1m29.517s  + 0.279s
 6.  Felipe Nasr           Carlin Dallara-VW         1m29.531s  + 0.293s
 7.  Lucas Foresti         Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m29.686s  + 0.448s
 8.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW         1m29.744s  + 0.506s
 9.  Pietro Fantin         Hitech Dallara-VW         1m29.749s  + 0.511s
10.  Harry Tincknell       Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m29.757s  + 0.519s
11.  Pipo Derani           Double R Dallara-Merc     1m29.759s  + 0.521s
12.  William Buller        Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m29.971s  + 0.733s
13.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW         1m30.213s  + 0.975s
14.  Adderly Fong          Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  1m30.291s  + 1.053s
15.  Riki Christodoulou    Hitech Dallara-VW         1m30.405s  + 1.167s
16.  Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  1m30.473s  + 1.235s
17.  Yann Cunha            T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m31.100s  + 1.862s
18.  Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m31.474s  + 2.236s
19.  Bart Hylkema          T-Sport Dallara-Mugen     1m31.836s  + 2.598s
20.  Kotaru Sakurai        Hitech Dallara-Mugen      1m33.966s  + 4.728s

Leave a Reply