Skip to content

2011 British Formula 3 Rd of the Nurburgring (Rd 5, Qualifying, July 2nd)

July 2, 2011

© Creative Commons / Will Pittenger

Following on from his Friday practice form, Carlin’s Kevin Magnussen secured pole position for both British Formula 3 feature races at the Nurburgring.

The Dane held off challenges for pole position from Carlin teammates Felipe Nasr, Carlos Huertas and Jazeman Jaafar to nab the top spot.
For the opening race, Magnussen will lead away from Nasr (2nd), Jaafar (3rd) and Huertas (4th). The same four names populate the front two rows for Sunday’s feature; however Huertas and Nasr swap 2nd and 4th respectively.

On both occasions the gap was slender, with Magnussen on top by a mere two-tenths, although the fight for good starting places in the pack was fiercely fought.
Hitech débutante Antonio Felix da Costa assumed 5th for race 3 with Lucas Foresti (Fortec) alongside. William Buller (Fortec) and Rupert Svendsen-Cook wrapped the fourth row, while Harry Tincknell (Fortec) and Pedro Nunes (Hitech) recorded the 9th and 10th positions between them.

Saturday’s race will have Svendsen-cook and Buller on row three, with Foresti (7th) and Tincknell (8th).
Antonio Felix da Costa had originally put in the 4th quickest time, but received a five-place penalty for not respecting yellow flags during the session. As a result, the Portuguese pilot would claim only 9th, with Hitech teammate Pietro Fantin alongside on the fifth row.

Pedro Nunes (Hitech), Double R pairing Pipo Derani and Scott Pye, Hywel Lloyd (Sino Vision), Fahmi Ilyas (Fortec) and Hitech Rookie Class runner Kotaro Sakurai also received five-place grid drops for similar infractions.
T-Sport’s Yann Cunha was hit with a ten-place penalty.

Revised race one grid:
Pos Driver Team/Car Time
 1.  Kevin Magnussen         Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.396s
 2.  Felipe Nasr             Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.601s
 3.  Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.611s
 4.  Carlos Huertas          Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.863s
 5.  Rupert Svendsen-Cook    Carlin Dallara-VW         1m54.231s
 6.  Will Buller             Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.343s
 7.  Lucas Foresti           Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.375s
 8.  Harry Tincknell         Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.449s
 9.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Hitech Dallara-VW         1m53.766s  *
10.  Pietro Fantin           Hitech Dallara-VW         1m54.598s
11.  Jack Harvey             Carlin Dallara-VW         1m54.715s
12.  Menasheh Idafar         T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m55.478s
13.  Bart Hylkema            T-Sport Dallara-Mugen     1m56.024s
14.  Adderly Fong            Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  2m12.400s
15.  Pedro Nunes             Hitech Dallara-VW         1m54.473s  *
16.  Pipo Derani             Double R Dallara-Merc     1m54.512s  *
17.  Scott Pye               Double R Dallara-Merc     1m54.568s  *
18.  Hywel Lloyd             Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  1m54.782s  *
19.  Fahmi Ilyas             Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m55.419s  *
20.  Kotaro Sakurai          Hitech Dallara-Mugen      1m57.086s  *
21.  Yann Cunha              T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m55.976s  **
* Five-place penalty
** Ten-place penalty
Race three qualifying:
Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap
 1.  Kevin Magnussen         Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.311s
 2.  Carlos Huertas          Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.545s  + 0.234s
 3.  Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.551s  + 0.240s
 4.  Felipe Nasr             Carlin Dallara-VW         1m53.583s  + 0.272s
 5.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Hitech Dallara-VW         1m53.668s  + 0.357s
 6.  Lucas Foresti           Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.097s  + 0.786s
 7.  Will Buller             Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.184s  + 0.873s
 8.  Rupert Svendsen-Cook    Carlin Dallara-VW         1m54.218s  + 0.907s
 9.  Harry Tincknell         Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m54.280s  + 0.969s
10.  Pedro Nunes             Hitech Dallara-VW         1m54.424s  + 1.113s
11.  Scott Pye               Double R Dallara-Merc     1m54.437s  + 1.126s
12.  Pipo Derani             Double R Dallara-Merc     1m54.495s  + 1.184s
13.  Pietro Fantin           Hitech Dallara-VW         1m54.517s  + 1.206s
14.  Hywel Lloyd             Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  1m54.644s  + 1.333s
15.  Jack Harvey             Carlin Dallara-VW         1m54.650s  + 1.339s
16.  Fahmi Ilyas             Fortec Dallara-Merc       1m55.135s  + 1.824s
17.  Menasheh Idafar         T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m55.304s  + 1.993s
18.  Yann Cunha              T-Sport Dallara-VW        1m55.674s  + 2.363s
19.  Bart Hylkema            T-Sport Dallara-Mugen     1m55.905s  + 2.594s
20.  Kotaro Sakurai          Hitech Dallara-Mugen      1m56.877s  + 3.566s
21.  Adderly Fong            Sino Vision Dallara-Merc  1m58.281s  + 4.970s
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: