Lynn sets British F3 pace

Alex Lynn topped the sole British Formula 3 practice session at a cool Oulton Park this morning ahead of Fortec teammate Felix Serralles and Carlin’s Jack Harvey.

The Formula Renault UK champion went to the top of the standings two-third’s of the way through the session, before going even quicker still before the chequered flag flew.

Lynn’s best of 1:27.795 gave him nearly a half-second advantage over Serralles, with Harvey a few hundredths shy of the Fortec pairing.

For some, the low temperatures made tyre temperature an issue, although the increased downforce helped bring the times down somewhat following on from last weeks test at the same circuit.

Behind the top three, Harry Tincknell strengthened Carlin’s presence on the timesheets in 4th, while Pietro Fantin (6th), Carlos Sainz Jr (7th) and Jazeman Jaafar (8th) followed up.
Fortec’s Hannes van Asseldonk split the Carlin pack in 5th place, with a time some seven-tenths shy of his teammate. Pipo Derani (Fortec) and Fahmi Ilyas (Double R) rounded out the top ten.

Nick McBride claimed 11th in his Nissan-powered T-Sport machine, while a late quick run by Double R’s new boy Geoff Uhrhane brought him up to 12th.

Richard ‘Spike’ Goddard headed the Rookie Class duo in the T-Sport Mugen Honda. The Australian ended the session six-tenths clear of his sole rival Duvashen Padayachee.

Pos Driver Team Time / Gap
 1. Alex Lynn             Fortec-Mercedes       1:27.795
 2. Felix Serralles       Fortec-Mercedes          0.494
 3. Jack Harvey           Carlin-Volkswagen        0.537
 4. Harry Tincknell       Carlin-Volkswagen        0.627
 5. Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec-Mercedes          0.711
 6. Pietro Fantin         Carlin-Volkswagen        0.760
 7. Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin-Volkswagen        0.856
 8. Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin-Volkswagen        0.879
 9. Pipo Derani           Fortec-Mercedes          1.079
10. Fahmi Ilyas           Double R-Mercedes        2.252
11. Nick McBride          T-Sport-Nissan           2.279
12. Geoff Uhrhane         Double R-Mercedes        3.395
13. Richard Goddard       T-Sport-Mugen Honda      3.420
14. Duvashen Padayachee   Double R-Mugen Honda     4.063

Leave a Reply