“Juncadella heads F3 Euro Series practice at Norisring”

© SRO.

Prema Powerteam racer Daniel Juncadella headed the opening Formula 3 practice session at the Norisring this morning.

The Spaniard pipped Harry Tincknell and Tom Blomqvist to the top spot, although many of the session’s faster times came courtesy of fresh Hankook rubber.

Pau Grand Prix victor Raffaele Marciello was lumbered with a loose wheel on his final run, although the Italian brought his Prema car back to the safety of the pits, before engaging another run.

Duvashen Padayachee endured a torrid time in his Double R machine. A broken clutch necessitated lost time in the garage, only for his mechanics to discover an additional gearbox issue later on.

Norisring’s heavy bumps dominated discussion amongst drivers, as each pilot assumed various routes to solving balance issues.

Due to the fast layout of the circuit, many of the competitors are running thin rear wing sections, adding to the lack of feel through the circuits few turns – something that may prey upon driver’s minds as they skim Norisring’s punishing walls.

The circuit’s high top speeds have also proven to be difficult on brakes, with drivers struggling to come to grips with the hard braking points.

2012 European F3 Championship (Rd 5) / British F3 (Rd 4) / F3 Euro Series (Rd 5) Free Prcatice

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap 
 1.  Daniel Juncadella     Prema Dallara-Merc       49.897s 
 2.  Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW        49.958s  + 0.061s 
 3.  Tom Blomqvist         Ma-Con Dallara-VW        49.976s  + 0.079s 
 4.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW        50.005s  + 0.108s 
 5.  Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW        50.011s  + 0.114s 
 6.  Michael Lewis         Prema Dallara-Merc       50.080s  + 0.183s 
 7.  Pascal Wehrlein       Mucke Dallara-Merc       50.093s  + 0.196s 
 8.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW        50.104s  + 0.207s 
 9.  Raffaele Marciello    Prema Dallara-Merc       50.115s  + 0.218s 
10.  Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc      50.129s  + 0.232s 
11.  Sven Muller           Prema Dallara-Merc       50.136s  + 0.239s 
12.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW        50.206s  + 0.309s 
13.  Emil Bernstorff       Ma-Con Dallara-VW        50.210s  + 0.313s 
14.  Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc      50.227s  + 0.330s 
15.  Will Buller           Carlin Dallara-VW        50.273s  + 0.376s 
16.  Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc      50.411s  + 0.514s 
17.  Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc      50.427s  + 0.530s 
18.  Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan   50.480s  + 0.583s 
19.  Sandro Zeller         Zeller Dallara-Merc      50.518s  + 0.621s 
20.  Felix Rosenqvist      Mucke Dallara-Merc       50.601s  + 0.704s 
21.  Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc    50.611s  + 0.714s 
22.  Andrea Roda           Zeller Dallara-Merc      50.625s  + 0.728s 
23.  Lucas Wolf            URD Dallara-Merc         50.678s  + 0.781s 
24.  Luis Sa Silva         Angola Dallara-Merc      50.837s  + 0.940s 
25.  Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc    50.978s  + 1.081s 
26.  Philip Ellis          GU Dallara-Merc          51.255s  + 1.358s 
27.  Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen    51.386s  + 1.489s 
28.  Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen   52.530s  + 2.633s

Bold = British F3
Italics = British F3 National Class

Leave a Reply