“Marciello makes it six at Brands with comfortable FIA F3 win”

Marciello celebrates. © FIA
Marciello celebrates. © FIA

Raffaele Marciello scored his sixth FIA European Formula 3 victory of the season in comfortable style at Brands Hatch this afternoon.

Marciello’s Prema Powerteam teammate, Alex Lynn, came home 2.8 seconds adrift in 2nd spot, with Lucas Auer making it a Prema 1-2-3 finish, a further 3.2 seconds off of Lynn.

Starting on the outside of the front row, the Italian jumped poleman Lynn off the line, leading the rest of the way with little trouble. “Like this morning, if you are first, it is a big advantage, so it is very important to start [well] and I got a good start and overtook Alex. Then it was easy, because if you are in front, you can manage the lap times.”

Marciello built a lead of nearly five seconds, when he began to encounter backmarkers, but kept his through the rest of race, ensuring Lynn could not get a look in. The Italian spent a few tours trapped behind Roy Nissany, but as the laps ticked down, Marciello managed the pace, leading his Prema Powerteam compatriot over the line. “My biggest problem was Nissany. For six laps, he stayed in my way, but it is very difficult for the driver – six laps was too much,” commented the race winner.

For Lynn, once he was passed at the start, there was little for him to do. “Raffaele is always very good at his starts and mine wasn’t good enough, so I didn’t deserve to win the race today. I’m disappointed to not win the race, but I get another chance tomorrow, so we will take it as it comes.” The 19-year-old added, “To be honest, [the start] happened so quickly, we will need to have a look at the data to see what [Marciello] is doing better than me at the start and try to improve. The balance wasn’t to my liking, but I got quite reasonably close to him when he got stuck behind Nissany.”

Beyond the leaders, there was precious little movement in the field – mostly due to Brands Hatch’s tight and twisty nature.
Following Lynn, Auer headed Sven Muller (4th) home, although Muller did his best to press his Austrian rival. “At the beginning, I was quite close to Alex, but toward the end I got big pressure from the back, but in the end I managed 3rd place and good points.”

In the distance, Felix Rosenqvist (5th) and Tom Blomqvist (6th) playing out their respective battle. Harry Tincknell guided Josh Hill to 7th and 8th, while Will Buller (9th) and Jann Mardenborough (10th) rounded out the top ten. The only action came from Nicholas Latifi who damaged his front wing on the rear of Daniil Kvyat on the opening lap.

2013 FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 4, Race 2; 50 laps)
Pos Driver              Team/Car                        Time/Gap
 1. Raffaelle Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc              35m8.698s
 2. Alex Lynn           Prema Dallara-Merc               + 2.816s
 3. Lucas Auer          Prema Dallara-Merc               + 6.109s
 4. Sven Muller         Ma-con Dallara-VW                + 6.354s
 5. Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc              + 13.332s
 6. Tom Blomqvist       Eurointernational Dallara-VW    + 13.668s
 7. Harry Tincknell     Carlin Dallara-VW               + 15.762s
 8. Josh Hill           Fortec Dallara-Merc             + 16.220s
 9. Will Buller         T-Sport Dallara-Nissan          + 19.356s
10. Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW               + 21.719s
11. Eddie Cheever       Prema Dallara-Merc              + 22.949s
12. Daniil Kvyat        Carlin Dallara-VW               + 26.728s
13. Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW               + 27.617s
14. Lucas Wolf          URD Dallara-VW                  + 30.114s
15. Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc             + 35.096s
16. Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc           + 35.924s
17. Dennis van de Laar  Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW       + 37.315s
18. Pipo Derani         Fortec Dallara-Merc               + 1 lap
19. Mitchell Gilbert    Mucke Dallara-Merc                + 1 lap
20. Andre Rudersdorf    Ma-con Dallara-VW                 + 1 lap
21. Spike Goddard       T-Sport Dallara-Nissan            + 1 lap
22. Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc             + 1 lap
23. Roy Nissany         Mucke Dallara-Merc                + 1 lap
24. Sandro Zeller       Zeller Dallara-Merc              + 2 laps
25. Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc            + 2 laps
26. Michela Cerruti     Ferraris Dallara-Merc            + 2 laps
27. Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW                + 3 laps
2013 FIA European F3 Championship points standings
Pos Driver               Points
 1. Raffaele Marciello   214.5
 2. Felix Rosenqvist     122
 3. Alex Lynn            119.5
 4. Lucas Auer           105
 5. Harry Tincknell       89
 7. Tom Blomqvist         78.5
 6. Felix Serralles       76
 8. Pascal Wehrlein       49
 9. Josh Hill             44
10. Will Buller           39

Pos Team                 Points
 1. Prema Powerteam      346
 2. Mucke Motorsport     191
 3. Carlin               157
 4. Fortec               125
 5. EuroInternational     92

Leave a Reply