“FIA F3: Blomqvist wins (!!) first Norisring race after penalty free-for-all”

© FIA.
© FIA.

EuroInternational driver Tom Blomqvist has been promoted to winner of the opening FIA European Formula 3 race at the Norisring.

Twelve drivers had twenty seconds added to their race time following the event when they were adjudged to have increased speed and gained time under double-waved yellow flag conditions when Tatiana Calderon retired on lap 16.

However several drivers have commented that the yellow flag had been withdrawn and that only a yellow light remained, an angle disputed by the stewards.

Original race winner Raffaele Marciello drops to 5th, while fellow podium sitter Alex Lynn is demoted to 7th place. Felix Rosenqvist, who raced under appeal, finished 2nd, but was disqualified following an apparent fuel irregularity in qualifying.

A decision as to whether Rosenqvist will or will not be reinstated into the results has yet to be reached.

Other drivers to be penalised twenty seconds include Jordan King, Michael Lewis, Lucas Wolf (who retired afterward), Felix Serralles, Pipo Derani , Alexander Sims, Lucas Auer, Jann Mardenborough, Roy Nissany and Nick Cassidy.

As a result, the final top ten behind Blomqvist were Harry Tincknell (2nd), Andre Rudersdorf (3rd), Eddie Cheever III (4th), Marciello (5th), Sandro Zeller (6th), Lynn (7th), Auer (8th), Serralles (9th) and Sims (10th).
Should Rosenqvist be reinstated, he will take the win.

There was a very unusual moment in the post race press conference when Blomqvist, Tincknell and Rudersdorf were interviewed despite not being informed of the penalties, leading to several moments of confusion on stage.
This was compounded by the sponsors backdrop falling on Blomqvist in the middle of the interview.

FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 6, Race 1 amended, Norisring; 39 laps) 
Pos  Driver              Team/Car                           Time/Gap
     Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc               35:46.466s*      
 1.  Tom Blomqvist       Eurointernational Dallara-Merc   35:49.810s
 2.  Harry Tincknell     Carlin Dallara-VW                   +3.551s
 3.  Andre Rudersdorf    Ma-con Dallara-VW                  +13.521s
 4.  Eddie Cheever       Prema Dallara-Merc                 +14.925s
 5.  Raffaelle Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc                 +16.320s
 6.  Sandro Zeller       Zeller Dallara-Merc                +17.423s
 7.  Alex Lynn           Prema Dallara-Merc                 +17.498s
 8   Lucas Auer          Prema Dallara-Merc                 +17.866s
 9.  Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc                +18.397s
10.  Alexander Sims      T-Sport Dallara-Nissan             +18.936s
11.  Pipo Derani         Fortec Dallara-Merc                +19.811s
12.  Nick Cassidy        Eurointernational Dallara-Merc     +22.559s
13.  Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW                  +22.744s
14.  Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW                  +25.444s
15.  Michela Cerruti     Ferraris Dallara-Merc              +28.621s
16.  Roy Nissany         Mucke Dallara-Merc                 +28.783s
17.  Michael Lewis       Mucke Dallara-Merc                 +33.936s
18.  Spike Goddard       T-Sport Dallara-Nissan              +2 laps
     Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc              +5 laps
     Sven Muller         Ma-con Dallara-VW                  +5 laps
     Lucas Wolf          URD Dallara-Merc                   +5 laps
     Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW                 +21 laps
     Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc             +24 laps
     Dennis van de Laar  Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW         +27 laps
     Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc             +33 laps
     Mitchell Gilbert    Mucke Dallara-Merc                +34 laps
     Daniil Kvyat        Carlin Dallara-VW                 +38 laps

*Rosenqvist racing under appeal following exclusion from qualifying for fuel irregularities.

FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 6, Race 1)
Pos Driver              Points
 1. Raffaele Marciello   249.5
 2. Felix Rosenqvist     212
 3. Lucas Auer           169
 4. Harry Tincknell      148
 5. Alex Lynn            139.5
 6. Tom Blomqvist        119.5
 7. Felix Serralles       78
 8. Jordan King           76
 9. Sven Muller           60
10. Josh Hill             56

Pos Team                Points
 1. Prema Powerteam      436
 2. Mucke Motorsport     302
 3. Carlin               277
 4. Fortec               150
 5. EuroInternational    137

Leave a Reply