“FIA F3: Marciello awarded Norisring race one win after penalties rescinded”

© FIA.
© FIA.

Prema Powerteam pilot Raffaele Marciello has had his victory from race one reinstated following a post-race investigation.

The Italian was one of seven drivers to have the position reversed, with Alex Lynn, Michael Lewis, Felix Serralles, Jann Mardenborough and Roy Nissany also benefitting.

Lucas Wolf also had his post-race time penalty reversed; however the German youngster had retired five laps from the end.

Confusion stemmed from an error by a marshal at the exit of the turn one hairpin on the 16th tour.
Yellow flags were drawn when Tatiana Calderon’s parked her damaged Double R Dallara machine trackside upon the exit of the hairpin. However prior to the emergence of the safety car, yellow flags were withdrawn for a brief moment, during which time the seven drivers in question set quicker sectors.

The change of result means Marciello takes the victory ahead of Lynn and Serralles, with Blomqvist and Tincknell demoted to 4th and 5th respectively. Mardenborough rises to 6th, as does Nissany to 7th, while Andre Rudersdorf falls to 8th.
Michael Lewis takes 9th spot and Eddie Cheever III assumes the final points place for Prema Powerteam.

FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 6, Race 1 amended, Norisring; 39 laps) 
Pos  Driver              Team/Car                           Time/Gap
 1.  Raffaelle Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc               35:46.130s
DSQ. Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc                  +0.336s*
 2.  Alex Lynn           Prema Dallara-Merc                  +1.178s
 3.  Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc                 +2.077s
 4.  Tom Blomqvist       Eurointernational Dallara-Merc      +3.680s
 5.  Harry Tincknell     Carlin Dallara-VW                   +7.231s
 6.  Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW                   +9.124s
 7.  Roy Nissany         Mucke Dallara-Merc                 +12.463s
 8.  Andre Rudersdorf    Ma-con Dallara-VW                  +17.201s
 9.  Michael Lewis       Mucke Dallara-Merc                 +17.616s
10.  Eddie Cheever       Prema Dallara-Merc                 +18.605s
11.  Sandro Zeller       Zeller Dallara-Merc                +21.203s
12   Lucas Auer          Prema Dallara-Merc                 +21.546s
13.  Alexander Sims      T-Sport Dallara-Nissan             +22.616s
14.  Pipo Derani         Fortec Dallara-Merc                +23.491s
15.  Nick Cassidy        Eurointernational Dallara-Merc     +26.239s
16.  Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW                  +26.424s
17.  Michela Cerruti     Ferraris Dallara-Merc              +32.301s
18.  Spike Goddard       T-Sport Dallara-Nissan              +2 laps
     Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc              +5 laps
     Sven Muller         Ma-con Dallara-VW                  +5 laps
     Lucas Wolf          URD Dallara-Merc                   +5 laps
     Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW                 +21 laps
     Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc             +24 laps
     Dennis van de Laar  Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW         +27 laps
     Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc             +33 laps
     Mitchell Gilbert    Mucke Dallara-Merc                +34 laps
     Daniil Kvyat        Carlin Dallara-VW                 +38 laps
FIA European F3 Championship (Rd 6, Race 1 amended)
Pos Driver              Points
 1. Raffaele Marciello   264.5
 2. Felix Rosenqvist     212
 3. Lucas Auer           165
 4. Alex Lynn            151.5
 5. Harry Tincknell      140
 6. Tom Blomqvist        106.5
 7. Felix Serralles       93
 8. Jordan King           76
 9. Sven Muller           60
10. Josh Hill             56

Pos Team                Points
 1. Prema Powerteam      436
 2. Mucke Motorsport     302
 3. Carlin               277
 4. Fortec               150
 5. EuroInternational    137

Leave a Reply