“GP2 Series: Lancaster and Clos receive post-qualifying penalties”

GP2 Series racers Dani Clos and Jon Lancaster have both received hefty penalties following yesterday’s qualifying session at Monza.

Having originally qualified 7th, it was discovered that Clos’ MP Motorsport machine did not contain the correct amount of fuel for sample testing. Clos will now start from the rear of the field.

Alongside Clos will be Hilmer Motorsport rival Lancaster, who – after setting the 18th best time – was penalised for ignoring yellow flags during the session. Lancaster will now start from 25th position.

2013 GP2 Series (Rd 9, Qualifying; Penalties)
Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Sam Bird             Russian Time        1m31.788s
 2.  Fabio Leimer         Racing Engineering  1m31.822s  +0.034s
 3.  Jolyon Palmer        Carlin              1m31.843s  +0.055s
 4.  Marcus Ericsson      DAMS                1m31.915s  +0.127s
 5.  Tom Dillmann         Russian Time        1m31.949s  +0.161s
 6.  Stefano Coletti      Rapax               1m31.993s  +0.205s
 7.  James Calado         ART                 1m32.033s  +0.245s
 8.  Jake Rosenzweig      Addax               1m32.100s  +0.312s
 9.  Simon Trummer        Rapax               1m32.164s  +0.376s
10.  Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                1m32.168s  +0.380s
11.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin              1m32.381s  +0.593s
12.  Rio Haryanto         Addax               1m32.384s  +0.596s
13.  Julian Leal          Racing Engineering  1m32.398s  +0.610s
14.  Alexander Rossi      Caterham            1m32.447s  +0.659s
15.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Hilmer              1m32.462s  +0.674s
16.  Mitch Evans          Arden               1m32.481s  +0.693s
17.  Nathanael Berthon    Trident             1m32.554s  +0.766s
18.  Daniel Abt           ART                 1m32.627s  +0.839s
19.  Johnny Cecotto       Arden               1m32.650s  +0.862s
20.  Daniel de Jong       MP                  1m32.751s  +0.963s
21.  Sergio Campana       Trident             1m33.195s  +1.407s
22.  Rene Binder          Lazarus             1m33.292s  +1.504s
23.  Vittorio Ghireli     Lazarus             1m33.405s  +1.617s
24.  Sergio Canamasas     Caterham            1m34.963s  +3.175s
25.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer              1m32.482s  +0.694s*
26.  Dani Clos            MP                  1m32.024s  +0.236s**

*Lancaster received ten-place grid penalty for ignoring yellow flags.
**Clos excluded from qualifying for inability to provide fuel sample. Will start last.

Leave a Reply