“Kvyat takes GP3 dominant pole position at Monza”

© GP3 Media Services
© GP3 Media Services

MW Arden racer Daniil Kvyat took a masterful pole position at Monza this morning – half-a-second clear of his nearest rival, Robert Visoiu.

The Russian Red Bull youngster powered his way to the top of the order four minutes from time with a staggering lap of 1:36.933.

Kvyat’s pole position earns the Russian an extra four points, bringing him to within 23 points of series leader, Facu Regalia.

Meanwhile Visoiu – sitting on Kvyat’s rear wing at the crucial moment – crossed the line some 0.511s down on his MW Arden stablemate to assume the second front row spot.

The final moments of the session were rendered mute by several yellow flags due to spins by Carlin duo Alexander Sims and Nick Yelloly. David Fumanelli’s broken Trident machine ground to a halt on the exit of the Rettifilo chicane, neutralizing any fast runs through there.
As such, Tio Ellinas took 3rd place with what would turn out to be one of the final improvements of the session. The Cypriot displaced Sims and Yelloly in the order to 4th and 5th respectively, with Carlos Sainz Jr rounding out the top six in the third MW Arden machine.

Championship contenders Conor Daly and Regalia registered 7th and 8th positions, heading Kevin Korjus by mere thousandths come the chequered flag. Lewis Williamson closed out the top ten for Bamboo Engineering.

Two penalties have been applied for today’s opening race. Aaro Vainio has a five-place grid penalty left over from the round at Spa-Francorchamps, while Carmen Jorda takes a – somewhat irrelevant – ten-place grid penalty, as she had qualified last regardless.

2013 GP3 Series (Rd 7, Qualifying)
Pos Driver                 Team              Time       Gap
 1. Daniil Kvyat           MW Arden          1m36.933s
 2. Robert Visoiu          MW Arden          1m37.444s  +0.511s
 3. Tio Ellinas            Manor             1m37.526s  +0.593s
 4. Alexander Sims         Carlin            1m37.580s  +0.647s
 5. Nick Yelloly           Carlin            1m37.602s  +0.669s
 6. Carlos Sainz           MW Arden          1m37.619s  +0.686s
 7. Conor Daly             ART               1m37.708s  +0.775s
 8. Facu Regalia           ART               1m37.715s  +0.782s
 9. Kevin Korjus           Koiranen          1m37.723s  +0.790s
10. Lewis Williamson       Bamboo            1m37.942s  +1.009s
11. Dino Zamparelli        Mano              1m37.991s  +1.058s
12. Jack Harvey            ART               1m38.111s  +1.178s
13. Patric Niederhauser    Jenzer            1m38.113s  +1.180s
14. Adderly Fong           Status            1m38.141s  +1.208s
15. Patrick Kujala         Koiranen          1m38.388s  +1.455s
16. Giovanni Venturini     Trident           1m38.419s  +1.486s
17. Melville McKee         Bamboo            1m38.450s  +1.517s
18. Luis Sa Silva          Carlin            1m38.495s  +1.562s
19. Alex Fontana           Jenzer            1m38.522s  +1.589s
20. David Fumanelli        Trident           1m38.566s  +1.633s
21. Jimmy Eriksson         Status            1m38.615s  +1.682s
22. Josh Webster           Status            1m38.660s  +1.727s
23. Emanuele Zonzini       Trident           1m38.934s  +2.001s
24. Ryan Cullen            Manor             1m39.312s  +2.379s
25. Samin Gomez            Jenzer            1m39.474s  +2.541s
26. Aaro Vainio            Koiranen          1m38.606s  +1.673s*
27. Carmen Jorda           Bamboo            1m40.218s  +3.285s**


Aaro Vainio takes grid penalty from Spa-Francorchamps round.
Carmen Jorda received grid penalty following Free Practice.

Leave a Reply