“F1: Hamilton leads second practice”

Lewis Hamilton topped the second free practice session at Spa-Francorchamps this afternoon.

In a reversal from this morning’s run, the Briton leads Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, posting a fastest time six-tenths quicker than his German counterpart.

It was not all plain sailing for Hamilton. In the final thirty minutes of the session, the 2008 World Champion complained “something weird happened in the gearbox into the last corner”; however he would continue with no issues.

Hamilton’s quickest – 1:49.189s – ensured that Rosberg was comfortably outpaced over single-lap pace and it appeared at this stage as if Hamilton may also have the nod over the longer stint on the Prime Pirelli tyres.

Fernando Alonso took 3rd in his Ferrari, proving four-tenths faster than Williams’ Felipe Massa. The Brazilian’s teammate took 6th, with the Williams cars sandwiching McLaren’s Jenson Button.

The session was red flagged twice. Firstly Pastor Maldonado managed a grand total of one-and-a-half laps when the Venezuelan crashed exiting The Corner With No Name. Esteban Gutierrez also caused a stoppage when he spun and stalled at Blanchimont.

Engine problems left over from the morning practice scuppered Sebastian Vettel’s session. The reigning world champion did not complete any laps in the second practice.

2014 Belgian Grand Prix (Rd 12, Free Practice 2)
Pos Driver               Team                Time / Gap
 1. Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes              1:49.189
 2. Nico Rosberg         Mercedes                +0.604
 3. Fernando Alonso      Ferrari                 +0.741
 4. Felipe Massa         Williams-Mercedes       +1.138
 5. Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes        +1.470
 6. Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Mercedes       +1.488
 7. Daniil Kvyat         Toro Rosso-Renault      +1.536
 8. Daniel Ricciardo     Red Bull-Renault        +1.788
 9. Kevin Magnussen      McLaren-Mercedes        +1.885
10. Nico Hulkenberg      Force India-Mercedes    +1.888
11. Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Renault      +2.194
12. Adrian Sutil         Sauber-Ferrari          +2.261
13. Sergio Perez         Force India-Mercedes    +2.384
14. Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault           +3.007
15. Kimi Raikkonen       Ferrari                 +3.045
16. Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Ferrari        +3.587
17. Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari          +4.766
18. Max Chilton          Marussia-Ferrari        +4.851
19. Marcus Ericsson      Caterham-Renault        +4.861
20. André Lotterer       Caterham-Renault        +4.904
21. Pastor Maldonado     Lotus-Renault        (no time)
22. Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault     (no time)

Leave a Reply