The 2011 Formula 1 World Championship Grid

This week saw the confirmation of a further five drivers in the midpack.  At both Force India and Toro Rosso, both squads confirmed that they will be holding on to their current line-ups for 2011.  At Sauber, GP2 Championship runner-up Sergio Perez will partner Kamui Kobayashi, leaving Nick Heidfeld out in the cold.
Still to be confirmed are Nico Hulkenberg and Vitaly Petrov; both will  most certainly have to keep their game up should they wish to remain in the top flight, however Hulkenberg’s team mate Rubens Barrichello looks good to keep his seat Williams.  It is still unknown as to whether Hispania Racing will be on the grid next year.

Earlier this year, Ferrari announced a new addition to their young driver’s programme – 11 year-old Lance Stroll.  The young Canadian has in his short career taken two Florida Winter Tour Championships for the Scuderia Karting Team, while also impressing at the Vortex ROK Cup at South Garda Karting Circuit in Lonato, Italy.
Add to that, the arrival of Nabil Jeffri – the 16-year-old is currently contesting the Asian Formula BMW Championship, but last week became the youngest driver to pilot a Formula 1 car.  The teenager spent a day on the grounds of Duxford Imperial War museum, doing straight line tests for Lotus in August.

This will be updated as time goes on and more announcements are made.

Force India Formula 1 Team
Adrian Sutil
Vitantonio Liuzzi

Hispania Racing Team
Bruno Senna

Lotus Racing

McLaren Mercedes
Jenson Button
Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes GP Petronas
Michael Schumacher

Red Bull Racing
Sebastian Vettel
Mark Webber

Renault F1 Team
Robert Kubica

Kamui Kobayashi
Sergio Perez

Scuderia Ferrari
Fernando Alonso
Felipe Massa

Scuderia Toro Rosso
Sebastien Buemi
Jaime Alguersuari

Virgin Racing
Timo Glock


Leave a Reply